“Delia Owens has nothing on Mandy Haynes, no ma’am. Twain may be wiggling in his grave as well.” Martha McDowell, a happy reader

Spread the love

“Reading Mandy Haynes’s collection of short stories, Sharp as a Serpent’s Tooth, takes me on a journey down red clay backroads to the gothic South where Flannery O’Connor rides shotgun and whispers in my ear. Haynes takes her fiction into a world I love–a South of conmen, snake handlers, and individuals with unsettling courage. She brings fresh insight into characters I’ve met and places I’ve visited in real life and in fiction. There’s no better journey–highly recommended.” USA Today bestselling author Carolyn Haines, 2010 Harper Lee Distinguished Writer Award winner

I had a great time talking with author Scott Semegran of Austin Liti Limits.
There’s a mistake in the intro, but it’s understandable. It’s hard for me to keep up with my story sometimes! I was busy being a mama at fifteen. I never dreamed of traveling with a band back then, especially one that had legends like Mike Henderson, Tammy Rogers, Chris Stapleton or that banjo pickin’ Richard Bailey in it. But I married the banjo guy when my son went away to college. I traveled with the SteelDrivers on the weekends, selling merch and working the doors at their shows surrounded by some of the best writers and storytellers in Nashville. I was also working full time as a pediatric cardiac sonographer and it was hard, but man, it was an experience I’ll never forget. Those guys and gals, like Elkin, were so supportive and encouraging and they helped me find the courage to call myself a writer. Sometimes truth is stranger than fiction.
Loved spending time with Austin Liti Limits and sharing an excerpt of Penny’s story

I was very excited and honored to be asked by author Cynthia Newberry Martin to write an essay for her blog, Catching Days.

It’s always a fun time with the Pulpwood Queens!

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Purchase signed copies here

Spread the love


Have you ever finished a book and wondered, “What made the author think of that?” Or wondered if there was a chapter in the original manuscript that didn’t make it through the final edits? Maybe you’d like to get a sneak peek at what an author is currently working on. Work In Progress includes sixty excerpts from some talented authors’ works in progress in different stages of the writing process, followed up with the story behind the story of the piece, and the story behind the author who wrote it. Where did the idea come from? What were they thinking during the writing process? Why did they delete a chapter, or change a character? Find out the answers to these questions and more inside – 546 pages filled with great stories! $19.95 + $5.20 tax and s/h


Walking the Wrong Way Home

The stories that make up Walking the Wrong Way Home are a mixture of humor, hard-won battles, and heart-breaking losses. In her debut collection, Mandy Haynes gives a voice to ordinary people and takes you inside their less than ordinary lives. Her love of storytelling shines bright and will have you cheering for saints, sinners, and everyone in between. $15.00 ($4.05 tax & s/h)


Sharp as a Serpent’s Tooth Eva and other Stories

Sharp as a Serpent’s Tooth – Eva and other stories consists of two novellas and three short stories. Each story features a female protagonist, ranging from ten to ninety-five years of age. Set in the south, you’ll follow these young women and girls as they learn that they’re stronger than they ever thought possible. $15.00 ($4.05 tax & s/h)


Trailer for Eva



Spread the love

Email me at mandy@mandyhaynes.com if you’d like to say hello, talk about books, dogs or turtles…

If you’d like to join my mailing list, send an email to threedogswritepress@gmail.com